A Dream Wants Waking by Lydia Kwa with host Carleigh Baker

On Thursday, November 9th at 6pm, join Massy Arts, Massy Books and Wolsak & Wynn in celebrating the launch of Lydia Kwa’s A Dream Wants Waking, with host Carleigh Baker.

“The melding of the technical with the mystical is masterfully done. This thrilling and innovative tale will have readers hooked.” — A Dream Wants Waking (Publishers Weekly, 15/08/2023)

About the book:

A Dream Wants Waking (Wolsak & Wynn Publishers Ltd, 2023)

In the mythical Luoyang of 2219 CE, a half-human half-fox spirit Yinhe has been asked to help liberate the chimeric creatures enslaved in labour in Dream Zone and Interstitium, two zones of the city where they have been confined. Will Yinhe be able to stop Gui the demon from wreaking destruction on the city and on humankind? This is a novel that interweaves different times and spaces; and speaks to the power of love to motivate discovery and liberation.

About the author:

Lydia Kwa has published two books of poetry (The Colours of Heroines, 1992; sinuous, 2013) and four novels (This Place Called Absence, 2000; The Walking Boy, 2005 and 2019; Pulse, 2010 and 2014; Oracle Bone, 2017). Her fifth novel A Dream Wants Waking is published by Buckrider Books, an imprint of Wolsak & Wynn in Fall 2023. A third book of poetry from time to new will be published by Gordon Hill Press in Fall 2024.

She won the Earle Birney Poetry Prize in 2018; and her novels have been nominated for several awards, including the Lambda Literary Award for Fiction.

About the host:

CARLEIGH BAKER is an author and teacher of Cree-Métis and European descent. Born and raised on Stó:lō territory, she currently lives on the unceded territories of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and səl̓ilwəta (Tsleil-Waututh) peoples. Her debut story collection, Bad Endings (Anvil Press, 2017), won the City of Vancouver Book Award, and was also a finalist for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, and the Indigenous Voices Award for fiction. She is a co-editor of Carving Space, the Indigenous Voices Awards Anthology. Her new story collection, Last Woman, is forthcoming with McClelland & Stewart in spring 2024.