Loading Events

« All Events

Book Launch: The Years Shall Run Like Rabbits by Ben Berman Ghan in Conversation with Erica McKeen

July 10 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm PDT

Join Massy Arts and Ben Berman Ghan, July 10th from 6-8pm for the launch of Ben’s new book The Years Shall Run Like Rabbits in conversation with Erica McKeen.

Venue & Accessibility

The event will be hosted at the Massy Arts Gallery, at 23 East Pender Street in Chinatown, Vancouver. We are located in the former MING WO building.

Registration is free or by donation and required for entry.

The gallery is wheelchair accessible and a gender-neutral washroom is on-site.

Please refrain from wearing scents or heavy perfumes.

For more on accessibility including parking, seating, venue measurements and floor plan, and how to request ASL interpretation please visit: massyarts.com/accessibility

Covid Protocols: Masks keep our community safe and are mandatory (N95 masks are recommended as they offer the best protection). We ask if you are showing symptoms, that you stay home. Thank you kindly.

About the Author Ben Berman Ghan: Ben Berman Ghan (he/him) is the author of the novel The Years Shall Run Like Rabbits (Buckrider Books 2024), as well as the collection What We See in the Smoke (Crowsnest books 2019), and the novella Visitation Seeds (845 Press 2020). His prose and poetry and essays have previously been published in Clarkesworld Magazine, Strange Horizons, The Blasted Tree Publishing Co., The Temz Review and others. He lives and writes in Calgary, Alberta, where he is a Ph.D. student in English literature at The University of Calgary. You can find him at www.inkstainedwreck.ca.

About the book: The Years Shall Run Like Rabbits: is a gorgeously complex work of literary speculative fiction that spans centuries The Years Shall Run Like Rabbits starts in 2014 with a winged alien sowing the seeds of a strange forest on the moon. The novel then moves through humanity’s colonization of the moon and its consequences, onto a war with alien beings within a space-going whale, a cyborg mind that sleeps for hundreds of years after sheltering the city of Toronto from the worst of the war and finally a re-creation of humanity. Ghan poses thoughtful questions about artificial intelligence, humanities quest for the stars and ecological destruction in this wide-ranging story, which is held together equally by beautiful writing and deft characterization. The end result is an ambitious debut that leaves the reader contemplating many amazing possibilities for the future of our world

Purchase The Years Shall Run Like Rabbits here: https://storestock.massybooks.com/item/o_qOYZ4my7h5CUWLT5_mvg

“Expansive, imaginative and thrumming with volatile life, The Year Shall Run Like Rabbits is a showcase for Ghan’s immersive and elegant prose to depict worlds beyond our own. Toronto will never be the same.”– Andrew F. Sullivan, author of The Marigold

“Sentient holograms, cyborgs, moon colonies, a dreary future-Toronto – Ghan’s The Years Shall Run Like Rabbits reads like a mythical, cyberpunk, posthuman fever dream. This novel is for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin’s The Dispossessed, Larissa Lai’s The Tiger Flu and Omar El Akkad’s American War.”– John Elizabeth Stintzi, author of My Volcano and Bad Houses

About the Author Erica McKeen: Erica McKeen is the author of Tear, a novel that won the Rakuten Kobo Emerging Writer Prize for literary fiction, and Cicada Summer. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, where she works as a teacher and librarian.

About the Book: Cicada Summer

A woman, her grandfather, and her lover quarantine in the remote lakeside wilderness—where their world splits apart at the seams. In the summer of 2020, with a heat wave bearing down and a brood of periodical cicadas climbing into the trees, Husha mourns the recent death of her mother while quarantining with her ailing grandfather, Arthur, at his lakeside cabin in remote Ontario. They’re soon joined by Husha’s ex-lover, Nellie, who arrives without explanation to complete their trio.

Also among them is a strange book, discovered by Husha while cleaning out her mother’s house. When she, Arthur, and Nellie begin to read it together, they learn that her mother’s last missive was a short story collection, crawling with unsettling imagery and terrifying transformations. As the stories bleed into their cloistered life in the cabin, they must each reckon with loss, longing, and what it means to truly know another person. Incantatory and atmospheric, Cicada Summer is a dazzlingly original novel about how we grieve and care for one another.

Purchase Cicada Summer here: https://storestock.massybooks.com/item/KbKT8pcwmPUsHEae_T9a2Q

Details

Date:
July 10
Time:
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm PDT
Event Category:

Venue

MASSY ARTS SOCIETY
23 East Pender Street
Vancouver, BC Canada
+ Google Map

Organizer

Massy Arts Society