Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Vivek Shraya in Conversation with Bif Naked

March 2 @ 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm PST

Poster for How To Fail as a Popstar

Official online book launch of How to Fail as a Popstar by VIVEK SHRAYA
Vivek Shraya in conversation with Bif Naked

Tuesday, March 2, 8 p.m. EST / 5 p.m. PST / 6 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. CST / 9 p.m. AST (online)

Hosted by the Eden Mills Writers’ Festival and Arsenal Pulp Press in partnership with the Hillside Festival, The Bookshelf (Guelph), Another Story Bookshop (Toronto), Glass Bookshop (Edmonton), Massy Books (Vancouver) and Shelf Life Books (Calgary).

How to Attend: This free event will be livestreamed via Facebook. Head to the Facebook page to attend! https://fb.me/e/4cbKd5P5g

The first play by multi-media artist Vivek Shraya, about fame and personal transformation.

Described as “cultural rocket fuel” by Vanity Fair, Vivek Shraya is a multi-media artist whose art, music, novels, and poetry and children’s books explore the beauty and the power of personal and cultural transformation. How to Fail as a Popstar is Vivek’s debut theatrical work, a one-person show that chronicles her journey from singing in shopping malls to “not quite” pop music superstardom with beguiling humor and insight. A reflection on the power of pop culture, dreams, disappointments, and self-determination, this astonishing work is a raw, honest, and hopeful depiction of the search to find one’s authentic voice.

The book includes colour photographs from the show’s 2020 production in Toronto, and a foreword by its director Brendan Healy.

About the Speakers

Vivek Shraya is an artist whose body of work crosses the boundaries of music, literature, visual art, theatre, and film. Her books include I’m Afraid of Men, The Subtweet, even this page is white, She of the Mountains, Death Threat, and The Boy & the Bindi, and her album with Queer Songbook Orchestra, Part-Time Woman, was nominated for the Polaris Music Prize. She is one half of the music duo Too Attached and the founder of the Arsenal Pulp Press imprint VS. Books. A six-time Lambda Literary Award finalist, Vivek was a Pride Toronto Grand Marshal, was featured on The Globe and Mail’s Best Dressed list, and has received honours from the Writers’ Trust of Canada and the Publishing Triangle. She is a director on the board of the Tegan and Sara Foundation and an Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Calgary.

Bif Naked is a celebrated and notorious performer in music, TV, film, and dance, and a tireless advocate and Humanitarian. Orphaned in India, emancipated by punk rock, and empowered by surviving breast cancer, kidney failure, heart surgery, divorce, and surviving as a Woman in The Entertainment Industry for twenty-five years, Bif has transcended any and all obstacles placed in her path to become one of the world’s most unique, recognizable and beloved icons. It is because Bif is such a tremendous performer and musician, that she is able to seamlessly and successfully explore and record other mediums, like writing, painting, choreography, and of course- other genres of music. For over two decades, Bif has been an original “Straight-Edge” and Vegan, not utilizing alcohol, meat, dairy, poultry, or sea life. “I just want to live by example,” Bif states, “and encourage everyone to live compassionately and more fully, in happiness.” When asked about what her favourite pastimes are, she has only one answer: “Living Loudly.” When not on rock tours around the World, Canada’s Queen of Punk splits her time between Paris, France, New Delhi, India, and her new home, Toronto, Canada. Her memoirs, titled, I, Bificus was published by Harper Collins Publishers, in April, 2016.

Details

Date:
March 2
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm PST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *